Treasure Magazine

Treasure Magazine

Maryam takes oath as Punjab, while Murad as Sindh CM

2 min read

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Maryam Nawaz on Monday took oath as Punjab Chief Minister, while Murad Ali Shah elected Chief Minister of Sindh.Maryam Nawaz was elected as the first female chief minister of Punjab province

During the Punjab Assembly session, the opposition lead by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) boycotted of proceedings under the flag of Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) with 220 votes.

Her opponent, Sunni Ittehad Council’s (SIC) candidate Rana Aftab Aftab Ahmad, received zero (0) votes due to the boycott.

Punjab Governor Balighur Rehman administered oath to the newly elected Punjab CM.

The ceremony was attended by former prime ministers Nawaz Sharif, Shehbaz Sharif, Hamza Shahbaz and others.

Maryam Nawaz debuted in parliamentary politics last Friday (February 23) when she was sworn in as a member of the Punjab Assembly, the legislature that previously elected her father and uncle, Shehbaz Sharif, as chief ministers.

Maryam Nawaz, who is the Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) senior vice president, became a member of the provincial assembly by winning the Feb 8 general elections from constituency 159 Lahore. She also won from NA-119 and later withdrew from the National Assembly seat.

Before embarking on her political career, the newly-elected chief minister led her family’s philanthropic ventures. She was the chairperson of the Sharif Trust, Sharif Medical City and Sharif Education Institutes.

Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate Murad Ali Shah also elected as 25th Chief Minister (CM) of Sindh.

The session was held with Sindh Assembly Speaker Syed Awais Shah. Newly elected MPA Nadir Ali Magsi took oath as the lawmaker of the house.

PPP’s Murad Ali Shah bagged a two-thirds majority by securing 112 votes against Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan candidate Ali Khurshidi who got 36 votes amid a boycott by the PTI and the JI.

Earlier, Ghulam Qadir Chandio, Saleh Shah and Naeem Kharal submitted the nomination papers to the assembly on behalf of Murad Ali Shah.

A day earlier, the assembly elected PPP’s Syed Awais Qadir Shah and Anthony Naveed as the new speaker and deputy speaker as the majority of the lawmakers voted for them.

About The Author

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Treasure Magazine