Treasure Magazine

Treasure Magazine

BCCI removes all 5 selectors, invites new applications

2 min read

The BCCI has advertised for the posts of all 5 selectors. The Chetan Sharma-headed selection committee has been removed following India’s below-par run at the 2022 T20 World Cup. Sunil Joshi, Harvinder Singh and Debasish Mohanty were other members of the selection committee, the Indian media said.

The men’s selection committee is set for a complete overhaul as the BCCI has invited applications for all 5 selectors. The apex board advertised for 5 posts on Friday (November 18). The last date to submit the application is November 28.

The decision to overhaul the committee comes after India’s below-par run at the 2022 T20 World Cup. India did make it to the semi-final but suffered a huge 10-wicket defeat against England in the knockout match. In the league stage, India managed a win against Pakistan on the final delivery while they lost to South Africa. At one stage, Bangladesh were cruising to a win against the Men in Blue and it was the rain break that derailed their chase.

India’s only comfortable wins came against Zimbabwe and Netherlands. Led by Virat Kohli, India had crashed out of the league stage of the 2021 T20 World Cup. India did not play any 50-over World Cup under the Chetan Sharma-headed selection committee. Chetan was the chairman of the selection committee from December 2020 to November 2022. Harvinder Singh, Sunil Joshi and Debasish Mohanty were other members of the selection committee.

As per the BCCI’s advertisement, those applying for the posts should have played at least 7 Test matches or 30 first-class matches or 10 ODIs and 20 first-class matches. Those who have only played List A and T20 cricket can’t apply for the job. Also, the player should have retired at least 5 years back. A person who has been part of any cricket committee for 5 years will not be eligible to apply for the job. A selector’s stint will end when he will turn 60.

The Chetan-headed panel had already named the squads for the Bangladesh tour as well and the new committee will have ample time to pick the squad for the next series (in 2023).

About The Author

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Treasure Magazine