Treasure Magazine

Treasure Magazine

No-Confidence motion moved against Punjab CM Parvez Elahi

2 min read
Punjab Assembly

LAHORE: Lawmakers of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) on Monday submitted a no-confidence motion against Chief Minister Pervaiz Elahi in the Punjab Assembly.

In an extraordinary move, a delegation of PPP and PML-N lawmakers submitted a no-confidence motion against Chief Minister Parvez Elahi, Speaker Sibtain Khan, and deputy speaker Wasiq Qayyum Abbasi in the Punjab Assembly.

Following their arrival at the Punjab Assembly Secretariat, opposition MPs such as PPP Parliamentary Leader Hassan Murtaza, PML-N’s Khawaja Imran Nazir, and PML-N Chief Whip Tahir Khalil Sindhu tabled no-confidence motion.

The PML-N and PPP members signed a motion of no confidence, which was accepted by Secretary Punjab Assembly Inayatullah.

The resolution stated, “Punjab Chief Minister Chaudhry Parvez Elahi should seek another vote of confidence from the Punjab Assembly because he has lost the support of the House. Governor Balighur Rehman Chaudhary will ask Parvez Elahi to take a vote of confidence following the no-confidence motion”.

PML-N leader Atta Tarar confirmed the submission of no-confidence motion, saying that it had been assembled against the Chief Minister, Speaker, and Deputy Speaker after consulting with allies “The assemblies should serve out their full terms, according to our allies. Election preparation has also begun”, added Tarar.

Atta Tarar added that these difficulties had been going on for a few days and that since the no-confidence motion now submitted, the assemblies could not be dissolved since there was no faith in them [Punjab government]. Additionally, the Governor also issued an order in this regard.

About The Author

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Treasure Magazine